Online stat calculator

General discussion about DSJ4.
MJumper

Online stat calculator

Post by MJumper »

Hello,

I was a litte bored the last couple of weeks so I made a small web application for comparing and tracking different stats of DSJ players :).
You can try it out at http://stats4dsj.pythonanywhere.com.

I think I should tell you that this is the first web app I've ever made (I'm new to web apps but not to programming in general), so you'll have to excuse the not-so-fanciness of it for now. Before I started I only knew very little html and pretty much nothing about https requests and all that. The program itself is made with Python (2.7) which I learned earlier this spring :). I hope you will enjoy it, I thought it might be fun once winter season kicks in.

Now begins the sales pitch:

FEATURES:
  • Perform queries and rank players based on the results
  • Histogram shows the distribution of the query results
  • Progress graph shows player development history
  • Select and highlight up to five players and compare their results
  • You can bookmark the page for viewing later (includes player comparison and date, if you select "Most recent" it will show the results for the most recently updated date)
See the info page for further details and instructions.

KNOWN BUGS AND ISSUES:
  • The uploader cannot fully validate input for the different total length categories (because the text elements of the records pages don't contain any clues about which kind of total length is being shown). Therefore, the only things I can do are to check that the string "Total Length" appears in the texts and that the longest weekly length is no longer than the longest monthly length etc.
PLANNED IMPROVEMENTS:
I am open to suggestions on additional features, but I'd like to keep it as a small simple app (that fits on one page).